Francis Douglas Memorial College (or FDMC) is an all-boys state integrated Catholic school with boarding facilities located in New Plymouth. The college was founded in 1959 under the leadership of the De La Salle Brothers, a religious order of brothers based on the teachings of St Jean Baptiste de La Salle. The name of the school is dedicated to the memory of Father Francis Vernon Douglas, a missionary priest who was killed while doing missionary work in the Philippines during the Second World War. The school educates approximately 760 boys from Years 7 – 13, 130 of whom are boarders.

FDMC has a proud rugby tradition and has continued to grow in all areas of the game. An increase in the school roll has certainly assisted in competing at a higher level as well as being prepared to play teams that are traditionally strong rugby schools. By playing in competitive competitions/games this has enabled FDMC players to get necessary exposure at a higher level. This has also set the benchmark for where the 1st XV wants to be, and wants to aspire to, for the future. Over the past 5-10 years it has been extremely pleasing to see the significant number of College students making representative teams across NZ.

Number of teams for 2017

  • 11 Rugby Teams (1st XV, 2nd XV, 3rd XV, 4th XV, U15A, U15B, U63kg Yellow, U63kg Red, U13, U13/12 Mix, U12)

Competitions currently involved in

  • 1st XV – Central North Island Rugby competition; Chiefs Cup
  • 2nd XV - Central North Island Rugby Development competition; 1st round Taranaki Secondary Schools Premier Competition
  • All other teams play in the local secondary schools rugby competition

Traditional fixtures

  • De La Salle, Auckland
  • Palmerston North Boys’ High School
  • New Plymouth Boys’ High School
  • St Bernard's College, Lower Hutt

Shane McDonald Head Coach

Ian Snook Assistant Coach

Ian Snook brings a wealth of knowledge to the FDMC 1st XV. Ian is former school teacher and professional rugby coach. He has played first class rugby for Taranaki and Wairarapa-Bush and cricket for Central Districts. Ian has coached in seven countries including National Provincial Championship, Currie Cup and Shute Shield (NSW). We welcome Ian to the FDMC 1st XV coaching set up.

Ian Snook

James Rowland Manager

James is a proud FDMC old boy, current staff member and Master in charge of rugby. He has been coaching at the College since 2009, working his way up the ranks from a year 9 team in 2009, the U15 ‘A’ in 2012, 2nd XV in 2014 and now 1st XV in 2016. He loves seeing the boys succeed on and off the field and growing rugby players and being a part of this growth and is a real passion of his. He is stepping into a new role of Manager for 2017, and looks forward to watching the boys develop throughout the year.

James Rowland

Ross Sinclair Manager

1st XV Squad 2017

  • Michael BACK
  • Chris BALSOM
  • Chris BRYAN
  • Dylan CALDER
  • Robson CHAPMAN
  • Ethan DIAMOND
  • Harry FOREMAN
  • Jeremy GOPPERTH
  • Joshua HOPKINS
  • Finn HOSKING
  • Luke HUGHES
  • Lachlan JONES
  • Mairenga LAAPO
  • Cobi MCCOOK
  • Jacan MCDONALD
  • Connor MITCHELL
  • Nathaniel PETERS
  • Mason PORTEOUS
  • Jordan ROYLANCE
  • Brad SAXTON
  • Ethan SEED
  • Jackson SINCLAIR
  • Mitchell TREGOWETH

Shamus Hurley-Langton Number 8

Shamus returns for his 3rd year in the 1st XV. Shamus has been a regular starter for all three years and is a major threat off the back of the scrum. Shamus brings a lot of knowledge to the team and will lead from the front.

Isaac Ratumaitavuki-Kneepkens 13 & 15

2017 is Isaacs second year in the 1st XV, and he will look to take charge this year. Whether at centre or fullback, Isaac will look for the gaps in the opposition backline. Linking up with little brother Jacob, the pair will look to slice through opposition teams. An exciting players in space.

Jackson Sinclair 9 & 10

Jackson will look to control the the forwards and the backline where ever he sets up. An exciting player all over the paddock.

**2016 - Successful season in the CNI finishing in the top 4, and taking some first up wins for the College * 2015 – Successful pre-season tour to Sydney, Australia * 2014 – Runners up of the CNI competition. Beat NPBHS, PNBHS & De La Salle all in the same season for the first time * 2013 – Won CNI and Catholic Hibernian Cup competitions; Won against NPBHS and PNBHS in Hurricanes Knockout; 19 match winning streak * 2012 – Runner-up in CNI and Hibernian competitions; Canada Tour unbeaten * 2011 – Unbeaten winners Taranaki U20 competition; Won against NPBHS * 2010 – Won Taranaki U20 competition * 2009 – Won Taranaki U20 competition

  • All Blacks – Beauden Barrett, Conrad Smith, John Mitchell, Scott Barrett
  • All Black Training Squad – Liam Coltman, Jordie barrett
  • NZ 7’s – Beauden Barrett
  • Fiji – Deacon Manu (Prop/Captain)
  • Current Super Rugby – Beauden Barrett (1st Five) Hurricanes, Jordie Barrett (Full Back) Hurricanes, Rikki Riccitelli (Hooker) Hurricanes, Liam Coltman (Hooker) Teihorangi Walden (Midfield) Highlanders, Scott Barrett (Lock) Crusaders Former Super Rugby – Shane Cleaver, Deacon Manu, Tony Penn, Kevin Barrett, Conrad Smith, Scott Fuglistaller, Leon Power
  • Current ITM Cup – all super rugby players plus, Joshua Walden, Logan Crowley
  • NZ Schools’ teams – Todd Curtis and Kane Barrett (2007 and 2008), Kane Barrett (2008 Captain), Rick McKenna (2007), Shane Cleaver (2005)
  • NZ Under 19 squad – Scott Fuglistaller (2005), Thomas Crowley (2006)
  • NZ Under 20 squad – Scott Barrett (2013) Teihorangi Walden (2013), Beauden Barrett (2011) Liam Coltman (2010),Jordie Barrett (2016), Ricky Riccitelli (2015) Scott Mellow (2015) Hurricanes Schools/U18’s – Scott Mellow (Prop) and Logan Crowley (Halfback) (2013), Scott Barrett (Lock) and Teihorangi Walden (2011 2nd Five), Jayson Potroz (Fullback) and Beauden Barrett (2009 1st Five), Kane Barrett (2008 Lock), Rick McKenna (2006 1st Five), Shane Cleaver (Prop) (2005 Captain),

201 Tukapa Street
PO Box 5124
New Plymouth 4310

+64 6 753 6149
+64 6 753 6148

MIC Rugby
James Rowland

1st XV Manager
James Rowland


Won 34-21v Wanganui Collegiate School
Won 38-21v St Peter’s School
Lost 24-44v St Paul’s Collegiate School
Won 28-10v Lindisfarne College
Won 41-19v Te Aute College
Lost 19-38v Wesley College
Won 57-5v St John’s College
Won 83-7v Rathkeale College
Lost 13-26v Feilding High School


Lost 0-38v Feilding High School
Lost 15-39v Lindisfarne College
Won 29-24v Wesley College
Won 36-10v Rathkeale College
Lost 22-31v St Peter’s School
Lost 14-36v St Paul’s Collegiate School
Won 52-10v St John’s College
Won 45-25v Wanganui Collegiate School


Won 41-3v Rathkeale College
Won 45-11v Wanganui Collegiate School
Won 23-20v St Peter’s School
Won 48-10v St John’s College
Lost 7-15v Lindisfarne College
Lost 12-64v Feilding High School
Lost 3-26v St Paul’s Collegiate School
Lost 9-30v St Paul’s Collegiate School (S/F)


Won 49-15v Wanganui Collegiate School
Won 70-8v Rathkeale College
Won 18-17v Feilding High School
Lost 12-29v St Peter’s School
Lost 20-32v Lindisfarne College
Won 36-3v St John’s College
Lost 13-24v St Paul’s Collegiate School
Won 22-16v Lindisfarne College (S/F)
Lost 14-32v St Paul’s Collegiate School (Final)